Today, March 28, is weed appreciation day. It also was my grandmother’s birthday, which seems appropriate in that she was full of nature lore – when to plant things according to the phases of the moon, that sort of thing.

I am generally not one to give any liking to weeds. I have spent the last few days de-grassing my strawberry patch, and weeding and mulching various areas where I will soon plant vegetables. All summer long I grumble as I pull weeds not only from among my tomatoes and other veggies, but also from my flower beds. Like bad habits, weeds are easier to conquer when they are young and small, so I try to keep on top of them as much as possible.

And yet to be fair, if you look past the annoyance of weeds, some of them are beautiful, such as dandelions shining like bright gold in the sun, and others whose names I do not know with delicate pink or purple or white flowers. And you have to admire their tenacity, and the fact that they will grow where cultivated flowers won’t, in any little crack they can find. So I guess I can give grudging appreciation to weeds, even as I keep pulling them out.

Like them or hate them, here are some quotes about weeds.

dandilion

A weed is but an unloved flower.–Ella Wheeler Wilcox

A weed is a plant that has mastered every survival skill except for learning how to grow in rows.–Doug Larson

Don’t let the tall weeds cast a shadow on the beautiful flowers in your garden.–Steve Maraboli

But a weed is simply a plant that wants to grow where people want something else. In blaming nature, people mistake the culprit. Weeds are people’s idea, not nature’s.–Author Unknown

When weeds go to heaven, I suppose they will be flowers.–L.M. Montgomery

First time I’ve picked weeds in almost a year. Definitely missed it. I love the smell of dirt and plant revealing their hidden nature.–Jeb Dickerson,

When life is not coming up roses
Look to the weeds
And find the beauty hidden within them.
–L. F.Young

Roses are red,
Violets are blue;
But they don’t get around
Like the dandelions do.
–Slim Acres

The strongest and most mysterious weeds often have things to teach us.–F. T. McKinstry

Weeds are flowers too, once you get to know them.–A. A. Milne

Leave a Reply

