Today, April 5 is National Deep Dish Pizza Day. Deep dish pizza is sometimes also called Chicago style pizza, as it seems to have originated in that city. Here’s what Wikipedia says about it: “Deep-dish pizza is baked in a round, steel pan that is more similar to a cake or pie pan than a typical pizza pan. The pan is oiled in order to allow for easy removal as well as to create a fried effect on the outside of the crust. In addition to ordinary wheat flour, the pizza dough may contain corn meal semolina, or food coloring, giving the crust a distinctly yellowish tone. The dough is pressed up onto the sides of the pan, forming a bowl for a very thick layer of toppings.”

Personally, I have never had a deep dish pizza, but I do love regular pizza, especially thin crust. Being a transplanted easterner now living on the west coast, I am fussy about my pizza. It can be very difficult to find really good pizza in the Pacific Northwest. I think it has to do with the sauce, which is somehow never as good out here. I am also a very traditional pizza eater, preferring pepperoni to anything else. In fact, one of the ways you can tell someone born in the Pacific Northwest is that they eat Hawaiian Pizza, which is topped with Canadian bacon and pineapple. (If you could see me, I am currently making the sign to ward off evil.)  🙂

Perhaps you never thought there might be quotes about pizza, but here are a few.

SnoppyPizza

I think of dieting, then I eat pizza.–Lara Stone

I’m an emotional eater. If something’s worth celebrating, we’re going to grab pizza. If it’s going bad, girl, pass me the chocolate. Gotta keep it in check!–Laurieann Gibson

Those pizzas I ate were for medicinal purposes.–Amy Neftzger

There’s no better feeling in the world than a warm pizza box on your lap.–Kevin James

And I don’t cook, either. Not as long as they still deliver pizza.–Tiger Woods

Pizza makes me think that anything is possible.–Henry Rollins

Ideas are like pizza dough, made to be tossed around.–Anna Quindlen

You can’t go wrong with pizza, unless it’s terrible pizza.–Andy Kindler

Find nearly 9000 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list at http://www.quotelady.com.

Leave a Reply

