Today, April 19 is Bicycle Day. I distinctly remember getting my first two-wheeler (with training wheels). I was six years old, and had been in the hospital getting my tonsils out. My bike was a present for being good in the hospital. I, however, was surprised because I knew I hadn’t really been good! Of course, the next big step was losing the training wheels. I remember that day too. My Dad had been running along beside me, and I was confident because I knew he was holding on. Then I looked back and there he was, half a block behind me – and I was riding on my own!

Rode all over the place when I was a kid. It’s one of the few activities I was actually good at. Can’t remember though, whether I passed that blue bike down to my younger siblings, or if I wore it out. As an adult, about, oh, twenty years ago or so, I used to ride my bicycle to work on the George Fox College (now University) campus. It could be challenging getting back from lunch when all the sprinklers were going at the same time. Sometimes I timed it right and arrived back to the library dry, and sometimes I didn’t and got a face full of water. Either way made me laugh.

I’ve graduated to stationary bikes now, and really more walking than riding, but I still remember those days fondly.

Did you know there are dozens and dozens of quotations about riding a bike? Here are a few of my favorites.

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

One of the most important days of my life, was when I learned to ride a bicycle.–Michael Palin

When the spirits are low, when the day appears dark, when work becomes monotonous, when hope hardly seems worth having, just mount a bicycle and go out for a spin down the road, without thought on anything but the ride you are taking.–Arthur Conan Doyle

Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride.–John F. Kennedy

Cycling is possibly the greatest and most pleasurable form of transport ever invented. It’s like walking only with one-tenth of the effort.–Daniel Pemberton

An engineer designing from scratch could hardly concoct a better device to unclog modern roads – cheap, nonpolluting, small and silent.–Rick Smith

I used to work in a bank when I was younger and to me it doesn’t matter whether it’s raining or the sun is shining or whatever: as long as I’m riding a bike I know I’m the luckiest guy in the world.– Mark Cavendish (pro racer)

Few articles ever used by man have created so great a revolution in social conditions as the bicycle. (US Census Report, 1900)

I’ll tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than any one thing in the world. I rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a bike. It gives her a feeling of self-reliance and independence the moment she takes her seat; and away she goes, the picture of untrammelled womanhood.–Susan B. Anthony

The bicycle is the most civilized conveyance known to man. Other forms of transport grow daily more nightmarish. Only the bicycle remains pure in heart.–Iris Murdoch

When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race.–H. G. Wells

The bicycle is just as good company as most husbands and, when it gets old and shabby, a woman can dispose of it and get a new one without shocking the entire community.–Ann Strong

And my own personal favorite: A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle.–Irina Dunn

Find nearly 9000 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list at http://www.quotelady.com.

Leave a Reply

