National Thrift Shop Day

I imagine most reading this have shopped at a thrift store, but just to be official, “A thrift shop (also known as a thrift store, charity shop, hospice shop or resale shop) is a retail establishment typically run by a charitable organization to raise money to be used in accord with the organization’s stated charitable purpose.” (National Day Calendar for August 17)

People shop at thrift stores for a variety of reasons. Obviously, one is to save money. A person might want to help out the charity the organization supports. Someone might be just starting out, or just not have enough money to shop at a regular retail store. Or the person might be looking to help the environment by buying used.

I love thrift stores, not so much for their clothing – although I once bought a jacket for $3.50 that I wore for 10 years – but for all the other things they sell. I go up and down the aisles, imagining what I could make out of all the little knick-knacks I see there. I have found such treasures as a Crater Lake mug with my name on it, household items, incredibly cheap candle holders for my Advent candles, colorful socks with my age on them, and all sorts of things that ended up in Christmas presents. I have a wonderful plush polar bear on my bed that called to me one day out of a barrel of stuffed toys as I walked by. And, of course, yarn.

Of course, I have also done my share of donating to charity shops. .It’s a great way to begin simplifying your life.

Also, I would be amiss not to mention Jeff Yeager. He calls it being a cheapskate, but much of his advice is about being thrifty – his mantra is: reduce, reuse, recycle. His first book was called The Ultimate Cheapskate’s Road Map to True Riches: A Practical (and Fun) Guide to Enjoying Life More by Spending Less. I think he goes overboard sometimes, but he does have good advice.

So, check out your local thrift store today. Buy or sell, or go in just to help the environment. It’s always fun and usually an adventure.

national-thrift-shop-day-august-17-1-300x150

Quotes about thrift.

(I must admit that as a Shakespeare geek, this is the first one that sprang to mind. It’s Hamlet talking to Horatio about the death of his father, and his mother’s second marriage that followed too soon afterward):
Thrift, thrift, Horatio, the funeral bak’d-meats
Did coldly furnish forth the marriage tables.

Thrift is not an affair of the pocket, but an affair of character.–S. W. Straus

Thrift was never more necessary in the world’s history than it is today.–Francis H. Sisson (written in 1920)

Industry, thrift and self-control are not sought because they create wealth, but because they create character. –Calvin Coolidge

By sowing frugality we reap liberty, a golden harvest. –Agesilaus

Frugality may be termed the daughter of Prudence, the sister of Temperance, and the parent of Liberty. –Samuel Johnson

Beware of little expenses; a small leak will sink a great ship. –Benjamin Franklin

A garden is a grand teacher. It teaches patience and careful watchfulness; it teaches industry and thrift; above all it teaches entire trust.–Gertrude Jekyll

Waste is worse than loss. The time is coming when every person who lays claim to ability will keep the question of waste before him constantly. The scope of thrift is limitless.–Thomas A Edison

I was brought up in an era when thrift was still considered a virtue.–Paul Getty

I like Goodwill and the thrift stores. I don’t like going into a store and picking from a bunch of cute stuff that’s already been found. One of the best parts is finding it myself.–Kreayshawn

Find more than 9000 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list, as well as quotation related merchandise, at http://www.quotelady.com.

Leave a Reply

