Hug a Greeting Card Writer Day

When we want to wish someone happy birthday or happy anniversary or happy retirement, or commemorate an important event in life, one of the first things we do is find a greeting card. Whether we want something inspiring or funny or even a bit rude, there is likely a card for that, whether it’s a paper card or an ecard available on the Web. But how often do we stop to think about the people who create the cards? They don’t just appear out of the blue complete and whole. Someone somewhere has put together the words to express the feelings we have for whatever occasion we are commemorating.

According to Wikipedia, “The custom of sending greeting cards can be traced back to the ancient Chinese, who exchanged messages of good will to celebrate the New Year, and to the early Egyptians, who conveyed their greetings on papyrus scrolls. By the early 15th century, handmade paper greeting cards were being exchanged in Europe. The Germans are known to have printed New Year’s greetings from woodcuts as early as 1400, and handmade paper Valentines were being exchanged in various parts of Europe in the early to mid-15th century, with the oldest Valentine in existence being in the British Museum.” For paper cards, Hallmark and American Greetings are the two market leaders. Today, it’s estimated that around 170 billion cards are sent worldwide each year.

I usually create my own cards with a program I’ve used at least since the 1990s called PrintShop. It’s not the easiest program or the best on the market, but I know its quirks inside out by now. I love creating personalized cards for friends and family.

Although I make my own cards, if I were to purchase cards, my favorite artist is Sandra Boynton. Her whimsical drawings always make me smile.

So if you know a greeting card writer, hug them today. Otherwise, support them by sending someone a card for a special occasion or none at all.

boynton

Here are a few examples of thank you card messages I found online to thank you all for reading this blog. As the sayings demonstrate, in cards the pictures and the words work together to send a message. The words alone don’t work as well. So in addition to the writers, let’s celebrate the artists.

Thank you for thinking of me.

Your generous gift is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for this gift and the gift of knowing you.

Thank you for all you do, you are truly a great friend.

I could not have done it without you, thanks.

Thanks for everything.

You have our heartfelt thanks.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Your thoughtfulness knows no bounds.

Please accept my sincerest thanks.

Thank You: Two small words to convey the infinite feeling in my heart.

You have my undying gratitude.

I’m so grateful for your thoughtful gift.

Thanks so much for your hospitality.

I love your gift., thanks so much.

You have my sincerest thanks.

Thank you for celebrating our special occasion with us.

Find more than 9000 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list, as well as quotation related merchandise, at http://www.quotelady.com

Leave a Reply

