National Chocolate Cupcake Day

October 18 is National Chocolate Cupcake Day. If you are a regular reader of this blog at all, you know I can’t pass up any day with chocolate in it. I also love making cupcakes of many flavors. And I learned a new word as I was looking up information on this important day: procrastibaking, which means the art of making cupcakes instead of something else you should be doing. I’m not sure it’s an official word, but it works for me! I may just go and do that today.

According to the National Day Calendar, “Cupcakes can be traced back to 1796 when there was a recipe notation of “a cake to be baked in small cups” written in American Cookery, by Amelia Simmons.  The earliest known documentation of the term cupcake was in 1828 in Seventy-five Receipts for Pastry, Cakes, and Sweetmeats in Eliza Leslie’s Receipts cookbook.” Did you know that cupcakes are known as fairy cakes in Britain?

Nobody seems to know how or why this day got started, but it is always celebrated on October 18. What’s the best way to celebrate? By making cupcakes, of course. For a list of 20 variations on chocolate cupcakes, there is a group of recipes on a site called Bustle. They run from malted milk cupcakes to red wine chocolate cupcakes to rocky road cupcakes, with 17 other interesting variations to try.

The next best way to celebrate is to buy cupcakes from your favorite cupcake bakery. Whatever you do, enjoy a chocolate cupcake today!

national-chocolate-cupcake-day

Quotes about cupcakes

When you look at a cupcake, you’ve got to smile.–Anne Byrn

What Makes Life so Sweet? Cupcakes to eat and Someone to Love.–Marie Williams Johnstone

Dream as if you’ll live forever, eat Cupcakes as if you’ll die today.–Unknown

We’re encouraging them to bring healthy snacks, but when a parent comes up with a tray of sweets, I’m not going to turn them away. I don’t want to be the cupcake killer.–John Young

Looking back, I have this to regret, that too often when I wanted a cupcake, I did not have one.–David Grayson

I’ve never met a problem a proper cupcake couldn’t fix.–Sarah Ockler

What can I say? I’ve never met a cupcake I didn’t want to get to know better.–Jasinda Wilder

You can’t just leave a Mississippi Mud Mountain half-eaten! We leave no cupcake behind!–Molly Harper

Since every piece of matter in the Universe is in some way affected by every other piece of matter in the Universe, it is in theory possible to extrapolate the whole of creation — every sun, every planet, their orbits, their composition and their economic and social history from, say, one small piece of fairy cake.—Douglas Adams

I am thoroughly convinced that you can’t be sad when you are holding a cupcake or a bowl of ice cream. It is impossible to do.– Amy Rees Anderson

And here are some from @CupcakeQuotes on Twitter:

You don’t need an inspirational quote to be creative. You need cupcakes.

Sometimes I wonder how I became this women and then I remember through strength, coffee and cupcakes!

I see a book, I see cupcakes, I see coffee, I see a good day ahead.

Where there is cupcakes, there is hope.

I have OCD Obsessive Cupcakes Disorder

You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy cupcakes… and that’s pretty close!

Find more than 9000 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list, as well as quotation related merchandise, at http://www.quotelady.com

Leave a Reply

