National Cookie Cutter Week

One of my fond memories growing up is making sugar cookies at Christmas time. I loved helping cut out the cookies and then helping to frost them and sprinkle on the colored sugar. We had cutters shaped like a tree, a bell, a star, and, of all things, a chicken.

The first week in December is National Cookie Cutter Week. The holiday was started by Paula Mullins of Kentucky in 1996. When she was gathering signatures for the petition to create the holiday, she gave a cutter shaped like a horse’s head to each person who signed. Members of the Cookie Cutters Collector’s Club can sign up each year to receive a newly created cutter during this week. You can see some of them on their page here.

By the way, the name cookie comes from the Dutch word koekje or koekie meaning “little cake.” According to Gone-ta-Pott, there are four basic ways to cut out cookies:

  • Cutouts: Cutouts are the simplest of cookie cutters and only “cut out” the shape in the dough.
  • Detail Imprint: Imprints not only cut out the dough they also leave an imprint in the dough that will last through baking.
  • Cookie Molds: Springerle molds are the most ancient of examples (can be traced back to the 14th century) and perhaps the beginning of cookie & cracker shaping.
  • Cookie press: Automated or hand operated press used to make large batches of cookies quickly (note from me – when I use a cookie press, nothing happens quickly except I get frustrated!)

Did you know there is a cookie cutter museum? It is located in Joplin, Missouri, and its official name is the National Cookie Cutter Historical Museum. A free plastic cookie cutter is available to any visitor who wants one.

When I was looking up quotes about cookie cutters, I quickly realized the phrase is most often used pejoratively, meaning something not original – a cookie cutter plot is one with no imagination. Guess it’s best to stick to actual cookies!

coooookie

Quotes about cookies

Cookies are the sweetest little bit of comfort food. They are very bite-sized and personal.–Sandra Lee

Think what a better world it would be if we all, the whole world, had cookies and milk about three o’clock every afternoon and then lay down on our blankets for a nap.–Barbara Jordan

The house smelled musty and damp, and a little sweet, as if it were haunted by the ghosts of long-dead cookies.–Neil Gaiman

“Empty?! You took all the cookies!”
“They were crying to get out of the jar… Cookies get claustrophobia too, you know!”–Charles M. Schulz

I am sorry; I cannot help you. I am only a cookie.–Chinese fortune cookie

Whatever happened, at least we had cookies.–Diana Rowland

Everyone knows that if you eat a cookie, and the cookie next to it is broken, you’re required to eat that broken cookie as well to keep the package looking clean.–Michelle M. Pillow

In the cookie of life, friends are the chocolate chips.–Salmon Rushdie

My grannies would both bake things like shortbreads and cookies. I think whenever I smell those kinds of things it really takes me back to my childhood.–Curtis Stone

I like cookies, any cookie you put in front of me – animal cookies, sugar cookies, anything crunchy.–Maria Shriver

I suppose I could have stayed home and baked cookies and had teas.–Hillary Clinton

Christmas for me is all about spending time with my family. I cherish any chance we have to spend all day together making gingerbread houses, baking cookies, or sitting around and watching movies.–Blake Lively

Christmas cookies can’t help but be retro – they are memory first, sugar-flour-egg-redhot-gumdrop-sparkle reality second.–Dana Goodyear

Find more than 9000 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list, as well as quotation related merchandise, at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)

Leave a Reply

