Winter

I hadn’t yet done a post on winter, and this seemed like a good time.

Anyone who knows me knows that winter is not my favorite time of year. In fact, I often say, “I don’t complain in summer no matter how hot it gets because I reserve the right to complain all winter long.” And I do. Right now I am heartily sick of snow. I feel like I’m living the Mary Dodge Woodward poem:

It is shovel, shovel, snow,
Shovel everywhere you go,
Shovel high and shovel low,
Shovel, shovel, shovel snow.

But of course, winter is important in the seasons of the year. It is the time of year when nature rests, when the seeds in the ground are getting ready for spring. It can be a time for reflection and quiet, for sitting before the fire, or wrapped in a blanket, drinking cocoa and reading. When the snow first falls, it brings a clean, quiet, white world.

Winter can also be a time of surprises. I was out walking a couple of days ago, looking down at the ground to help keep the sun out of my eyes, when I saw something that looked like deer tracks. I followed them with my eyes, and there standing not ten feet from me were a doe and two young deer. And yesterday, I had two other deer just outside my dining room window, eating my bushes. That’s not something I would see in summer.

So for those of you who love winter, I salute you. And for those of you more like me, it’s only a few weeks until it’s officially spring.

winter

Quotes about winter

The cold spurred her ambition. When frost came, you had to decide things.–Ruth Suckow

Come lovely Morning, rich in frost
On iron, wood and glass…
Come, rich and lovely Winter’s Eve,
That seldom handles gold;
And spread your silver sunsets out,
In glittering fold on fold.–W. H. Davies

I am younger each year at the first snow.–Anne Sexton

I love the scents of winter! For me, it’s all about the feeling you get when you smell pumpkin spice, cinnamon, nutmeg, gingerbread and spruce.–Taylor Swift

If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.–Anne Bradstreet

In the winter she curls up around a good book and dreams away the cold.–Ben Aaronovitch

In winter’s tedious nights sit by the fire
With good old folks, and let them tell thee tales
Of woeful ages, long ago betid…–William Shakespeare

January has only one thing to be said for it: it is followed by February. Nothing so well becomes its passing.–Katherine Tynan

The large white snow-flakes as they flutter down, softly, one by one, whisper soothingly “Rest, poor heart, rest.” It is as though our mother soothes our hair, and we are comforted.–Ralph Iron

Let us love winter, for it is the spring of genius.–Pietro Aretin

Thank goodness for the first snow, it was a reminder – no matter how old you became and how much you’d seen, things could still be new if you were willing to believe they still mattered.–Candace Bushnell

There is a wilder solitude in winter
When every sense is pricked alive and keen.–May Sarton

There seems to be so much more winter than we need this year.–Kathleen Norris

What fire could ever equal the sunshine of a winter’s day?–Henry David Thoreau

Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home.–Edith Sitwell

Find nearly 9500 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list, as well as quotation related merchandise, at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)

Leave a Reply

