National Teacher Appreciation Week

Since 1984, the National PTA has designated the first full week in May as a special time to honor the men and women who lend their passion and skills to educating children. I would also include those who teach students at university level and those who teach adults. A teacher is a teacher. This is the week to thank them.

I recently saw a meme on Facebook that said, “If you can read this, thank a teacher.” For most of us that is very true. I shared an apartment with a teacher for several years, and I can say that she not only cared for her class deeply – not only what they were learning but the children themselves – but that she put in hours and hours of work outside of school to make their learning experience exciting and memorable. And because her school, like so many others, was always pinched for resources, she spent a lot of her own money seeing they had the materials they needed, as well as spending hours at the local library finding books to share with them.

I’m sure most of us can think of at least one teacher who inspired us, whether that was in elementary school, middle school, high school, or college. My first memorable teacher was in the primary grades. She held me back after school one night because she could tell I wasn’t feeling well. She drove me home – can you imagine that happening today? Turns out, I was coming down with chicken pox! Next, I remember a Latin teacher in high school that I loved (so alright, I’m a nerd), and an English teacher who took the time to work with us individually, instead of teaching the entire class the same thing.

I also appreciate those who weren’t official teachers, like my Dad, who taught me I could be anything I wanted to be, as well as other mentors who gave me encouragement when I needed it.

So please, appreciate a teacher this week, and for those of you who are teachers, we appreciate you!

Quotes about teachers

The best teacher is the one who suggests rather than dogmatizes, and inspires his listener with the wish to teach himself.–Edward Bulwer-Lytton

Inspired teachers … cannot be ordered by the gross from the factory. They must be discovered one by one, and brought home from the woods and swamps like orchids. They must be placed in a conservatory, not in a carpenter shop; and they must be honored and trusted.–John Jay Chapman

A good teacher is never done … always trying to reinvent, improve and inspire.–David Carlson

I am not a teacher, but an awakener.–Robert Frost

The good teacher makes the poor student good and the good student superior.–Marva Collins

I never teach my pupils, I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn.–Albert Einstein

Good teachers empathize with kids, respect them, and believe that each one has something special that can be built upon.–Ann Lieberman

The job of a teacher is to excite in the young a boundless sense of curiosity about life, so that the growing child shall come to apprehend it with an excitement tempered by awe and wonder.–John Garrett

In a completely rational society, the best of us would be teachers and the rest of us would have to settle for something else.–Lee Iaccoca

One looks back with appreciation to the brilliant teachers, but with gratitude to those who touched our human feelings. The curriculum is so much necessary new material, but the warmth is the vital element for the growing plant and for the soul of the child.–Carl Jung

Find over 9500 inspirational quotes and a link to the Quote of the Day list, as well as quotation related merchandise, at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)t

Leave a Reply

