National Pink Day

PToday is the day we celebrate pink in all its various hues and shades. I have an ambivalent relationship with pink. I love pink flowers, especially roses, but am not particularly fond of pink in clothing or decorations, for instance. But this day is about more than simply featuring a color.

According to Days of the Year, “Pink Day was established in 2007 after a pair of students, David Shepherd and Travis Price, saw one of their fellow students at Central Kings Rural High School being bullied for no other reason than that they were wearing a pink shirt. In a stroke of brilliance, these two got together and decided to show support for the student and take a stand against bullying by getting everyone at their school to wear a pink shirt the next day. Pink Day was created to stomp out all bullying and spread understanding, and it’s a concept spreading throughout the world.” So one way to celebrate today is by wearing pink, particularly if you are a male.

Pink is also the color that reminds us to remember those with breast cancer. The pink ribbon is a reminder to us to donate to helping stamp out cancer of any kind. You can find information about the Breast Cancer Charities and how they are celebrating this holiday here.

Pink is also the color associated with the LGBTQIA community as PinkNews, a site for news that affects gays.

Some pink phrases from National Day Calendar:

  • In the pink –To be in top form, in good health, in good condition.
  • To see pink elephants – To hallucinate from alcoholism.
  • Pink slip – To be given a pink slip means to be fired or dismissed from a job. First recorded in 1915 in the United States.
  • Pink-collar worker – Persons working in jobs conventionally regarded as “women’s work.”
  • Tickled pink – means extremely pleased.

This is also Pink Flamingo Day, so there’s another reason to celebrate!

Quotes about the color pink

Pink isn’t just a color, it’s an attitude!–Miley Cyrus

People are people. Black, blue, pink, green – God make no rules about color; only society make rules…–Bob Marley

I don’t think I will ever get tired of wearing pink.–Emma Bunton

I love pink, it’s so girly!–Ashley Tisdale

Parenting girls makes you quite gender-conscious – it’s almost impossible to fight the power of pink. It’s not such a terrible thing to want to be a princess when you’re five, but it would be nice if there were some other options.–Robert Webb

I fell off my pink cloud with a thud.–Elizabeth Taylor

I’ve constantly tried new things, even as a child, and have always been obsessed with pink. Now I’m just a little more ladylike and fearless. You should never feel afraid to become a piece of art. It’s exhilarating.–Nicki Minaj

My parents told me I’d point to a bed of flowers and say ‘Pink. Pretty,’ before I knew any other words.–Joni Mitchell

My favorite jellybean is the pink one with the flavor inside.–Chester Bennington

I have as much pink as you can have. I love to see other women in pink. It’s good for every shade of skin and hair.–Evelyn Lauder

I can go without make-up and go fishing with my dad; other times, I buy pink shoes and shop for dresses.–Jordan Pruitt

I love pink – pink’s my favourite. I hardly ever – weirdly – wear it, but I love the colour pink.–Ellie Goulding

Pink is not a color – it’s a culture to me.–DeAngelo Williams

Pink is my favourite colour. I used to say my favourite colour was black to be cool, but it is pink – all shades of pink.–Roxane Gay

Find over 9500 inspirational quotes at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)

Leave a Reply

