National Sugar Cookie Day

July 9 is the day to celebrate sugar cookies. One of my earliest cooking memories is helping my mother cut out and decorate sugar cookies. We did it at Christmas time and had a bell, a star, a tree, and, of all things, a chicken cookie cutter.

Sugar Cookie Day can be traced back to the Nazarene (or Amish) sugar cookie, created in the mid-1700s by the Moravians in Nazareth, Pennsylvania. The invention of the cookie cutter in 1875 helped to make cookies easier with more variation and complicated shapes. In those days, tinsmiths made the cutters by hand. The cookies are so popular, that in 2001, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania adopted this as its official cookie. By the way, the word cookie comes from a Dutch word meaning little cake.

One thing that makes sugar cookies so popular, it that it is an easy recipe. Traditional sugar cookies are made with just six ingredients: sugar, flour, butter, eggs, vanilla, and baking powder. The primary flavor in the cookies is vanilla. And yet they are also infinitely adaptable since you can make them in various shapes, with various decorations. And they are an easy cookie for children to help with. Of course, you must remember to put out a plate of decorated sugar cookies and a glass of milk for Santa on Christmas Eve.

All the suggestions I saw for celebrating this day said to pick up some sugar cookies at the store, or some dough to cut and bake your own. However, with such a simple recipe, I think it’s a much better idea to make them from scratch yourself. (Though by all means buy them if you that’s the only way you will get any.) In case you don’t have that recipe, here is a link to a basic, easy one on Food.com.

Quotes about cookies

America ships tons of sugar cookies to Denmark and Denmark ships tons of sugar cookies to America. Wouldn’t it be more efficient just to swap recipes?–Michael Pollan

I like cookies, any cookie you put in front of me – animal cookies, sugar cookies, anything crunchy.–Maria Shriver

Cookies are the sweetest little bit of comfort food. They are very bite-sized and personal.–Sandra Lee

Think what a better world it would be if we all, the whole world, had cookies and milk about three o’clock every afternoon and then lay down on our blankets for a nap.–Barbara Jordan

Sometimes me think, “What is Friend?” Then me say, “Friend is someone to share the last cookie with.–The Cookie Monster

My grannies would both bake things like shortbreads and cookies. I think whenever I smell those kinds of things it really takes me back to my childhood.–Curtis Stone

I absolutely love making chocolate chip cookies. I mean, it’s fun. It’s exciting. Beyond the fact that I love making them, I love eating them.–Debbi Fields

I think cookies are sort of the unsung sweet, you know? They’re incredibly popular. But everybody thinks of cakes and pies and fancier desserts before they think cookies. A plate of cookies is a great way to end dinner and really nice to share at the holidays.–Bobby Flay

People have got to learn: if they don’t have cookies in the cookie jar, they can’t eat cookies.–Suze Orman

Every cookie and candy I put in the fridge, it always manages to taste better when it’s cold.–Hilary Rhoda

Don’t expect too much from yourself. What I like to do when I have a day off is make various cookie doughs and freeze them. Then I always have that on hand if I need it.–Giada De Laurentiis

I suppose I could have stayed home and baked cookies and had teas.–Hillary Clinton

Find over 9500 inspirational quotes at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)

Leave a Reply

