Milestones and Memory

Today I want to talk about milestones – about those significant times in the life of a person or group. The obvious important passage we all have is a birthday. At the first of the month, it was the beginning of a new year. Many mark that event with resolutions to change something in the days to come.

Everyone has times like those in their lives. However, those normal events are not what make us what we are. Rather we each have milestones unique to ourselves that have shaped us. Sometimes these were huge – marriage, children, an important new job, or something sad like a terminal illness.

Often, however, the events were small and seemingly unimportant, and it is only looking back that we see their significance. For instance, some examples from my own life. When I graduated from college, I needed a job to pay school loans, before I could pursue the career I planned on. I happened into a job in a library, and my life took an unexpected turn as I fell in love with the profession, and went on to get my masters. I occasionally stop and remember the unexpected direction my life took, and am grateful that it did.

I remember the day a young woman I barely knew offered to take me shopping for a present for my little brother. I didn’t know it at the time, but I had just met the woman who would become my dearest friend. Much later, I worked at a job where one particular person had it in for me and made my life miserable. She taught me both the difficulty of forgiveness and how it brings peace.

I hope today you will reflect on the significant events in your own life and acknowledge how they shaped you into what you are.

Quotes about memory and milestones

Remember to celebrate milestones as you prepare for the road ahead.–Nelson Mandela

I think one of life’s great milestones is when a person can look back and be almost as thankful for the setbacks as for the victories.–Bob Dole

My path has not been determined. I shall have more experiences and pass many more milestones.–Agnetha Faltskog

Sooner or later we all discover that the important moments in life are not the advertised ones, not the birthdays, the graduations, the weddings, not the great goals achieved. The real milestones are less prepossessing. They come to the door of memory unannounced, stray dogs that amble in, sniff around a bit and simply never leave. Our lives are measured by these.–Susan B. Anthony

When you have a life milestone happen, it’s good to step back and reassess the things you thought you knew about yourself.–Emily Yoffe

Life is all about evolution. What looks like a mistake to others has been a milestone in my life.–Ameesha Patel

Celebrate each season, for you too, are transformed with the turns of the earth.–Arthur Dobrin

Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes but when you look back everything is different.–C. S. Lewis

How we remember, what we remember, and why we remember form the most personal map of our individuality.–Christina Baldwin

Memory is not about what went on in the past, it is about what is going on inside us right this moment. … It is made up of the stuff of life in the process of becoming the grist of the soul.–Joan Chittister

Memory is the crux of our humanity. Without memory we have no identities. That is really why I am committing an autobiography.–Erica Jong

Memory is the place where our vanished days secretly gather. … The past seems to be gone and absent. Yet the grooves in the mind hold the traces and vestiga of everything that has ever happened to us. Nothing is ever lost or forgotten.–John O’Donohue

Find over 9500 inspirational quotes at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)

Leave a comment