National Hat Day

On January 15, we celebrate hats. It’s no secret to my friends that I love hats. I might only have two sets of shoes, but I always have a wide selection of hats. My latest is a beautiful multi-colored wool hat I bought in Ireland. I wear hats in the winter to keep my head warm, and in the summer to keep the sun out of my face. So this is my holiday.

People have worn hats for a very long time. The first depiction of a hat we have is one from a tomb in Thebes, which is over five thousand years old. It depicts a man wearing a conical straw hat. Hats for women began to be worn in the late sixteenth century.

Folks wear hats for various reasons. Some, like me, just love hats. Workers may wear hard hats for safety, as do sports players and soldiers. Some wear hats for religious reasons. Of course, in the military or sports, hats indicate to which country or team one belongs. And of course, hats are just fashionable. We see the height of hat fashion in the middle of last century with women in the movies wearing elaborate and beautiful hats, and men with top hats and tails. Some hats become associated with particular people such as Sherlock Holmes in a deerstalker hat.

The official term for the designing of hats is millenary, and a hat maker is a milliner. The term is derived from the city of Milan, Italy. The best quality hats were made in Milan in the 18th century.

Children’s books about hats include The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins by Dr. Seuss and Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina. And the various Curious George books with the man in the yellow hat.

So grab your hat, and celebrate this day!

Quotes about hats

You take the lies out of him, and he’ll shrink to the size of your hat; you take the malice out of him, and he’ll disappear.–Mark Twain

Never try to wear a hat that has more character than you do.–Lance Morrow

Cock your hat – angles are attitudes.–Frank Sinatra

Hang on to your hat. Hang on to your hope. And wind the clock, for tomorrow is another day.–E. B. White

How a hat makes you feel is what a hat is all about.–Philip Treacy

I myself have 12 hats, and each one represents a different personality. Why just be yourself?–Margaret Atwood

I can wear a hat or take it off, but either way it`s a conversation piece.–Hedda Hopper

A hat should be taken off when you greet a lady and left off for the rest of your life. Nothing looks more stupid than a hat.–P. J. O’Rourke

The whole shadow of Man is only as big as his hat.–Elizabeth Bishop

I measure your health by the number of shoes and hats andclothes you have worn out.–Ralph Waldo Emerson

Her hat is a creation that will never go out of style; it will just look ridiculous year after year.–Fred Allen

I have a hat. It is graceful and feminine and give me a certain dignity, as if I were attending a state funeral or something. Someday I may get up enough courage to wear it, instead of carrying it.–Erma Bombeck

I think that a woman wears so many hats, we have so many aspects to us that we’re not just one thing. We represent so much within us and that kind of comes across for me as a designer through mixing prints and colors.–Rachel Roy

If a woman rebels against high-heeled shoes, she should take care to do it in a very smart hat–George Bernard Shaw

Find over 9500 inspirational quotes at http://www.quotelady.com. Also visit us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Quote-Lady/133258553807 and on Twitter: https://twitter.com/kloberst (@kloberst)

Leave a comment